Minutes

At a meeting of the Full Council held at Council Chamber, County Hall, Preston, on Thursday, 18 December, 2014

Present:

County Councillor Kevin Ellard (Chair)

County Councillors

M Brindle M Parkinson J Gibson A Ali G Gooch N Penney A Atkinson M Green S Perkins A Barnes J Hanson C Pritchard M Barron Dr M Hassan S Prynn P Hayhurst P Rigby L Beavers C Henia K Sedgewick D Borrow P Britcliffe N Hennessy S Serridge I Brown S Holgate J Shedwick K Brown D Howarth R Shewan T Brown K Iddon D T Smith Mrs S Charles M Igbal K Snape D Stansfield A Cheetham A James A Clempson M Johnstone V Taylor D Clifford M Tomlinson A Jones Mrs F Craig-Wilson D Lord C Wakeford C Crompton T Martin D Watts M Dad J Mein D Westley D Whipp B Dawson Y Motala F De Molfetta R Newman-Thompson **G** Wilkins C Dereli D O'Toole B Winlow M Devaney Mrs L Oades **B** Yates G Driver J Oakes J Fillis M Otter

1. Apologies and Announcements

Apologies for absence were presented on behalf of County Councillors Tim Ashton, Terry Burns, Gina Dowding, Andrea Kay, Jim Lawrenson, Gareth Molineux, Mark Perks, Alan Schofield, Jeff Sumner and Paul White.

The Chairman reported that former County Councillor Mrs Shelagh Derwent was unable to attend the ceremony, but was delighted to be nominated in her absence.

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

None disclosed.

3. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

It was moved by County Councillor Jennifer Mein and seconded by County Councillor Geoff Driver:

That, having regard to the eminent services rendered to Lancashire County Council over a long period by former County Councillors Jean Battle Pat Case, Chris Cheetham, Shelagh Derwent, Hazel Harding, Chris Holtom, Margaret Livesey, Geoff Roper, Tom Sharratt, Dorothy Westell and Keith Young the County Council confer on them the title of Honorary Alderman of the County Council.

The Motion was then supported by County Councillor Bill Winlow and other Members of the County Council. Upon being put to the vote, the Motion was carried.

Resolved: That, having regard to the eminent services rendered to Lancashire County Council over a long period by former County Councillors Jean Battle, Pat Case, Chris Cheetham, Shelagh Derwent, Hazel Harding, Chris Holtom, Margaret Livesey, Geoff Roper, Tom Sharratt, Dorothy Westell and Keith Young, the County Council confer on them the title of Honorary Alderman of the County Council.

The Chairman of the County Council then presented certificates to Aldermen Jean Battle, Pat Case, Chris Cheetham, Hazel Harding, Chris Holtom, Margaret Livesey, Geoff Roper, Tom Sharratt, Dorothy Westell and Keith Young who each thanked the Members of the County Council for the honour bestowed upon them.

A certificate would be posted to Mrs Derwent.

Jo Turton
Chief Executive

County Hall Preston